Posted by: miamicomplaints | December 28, 2008

Joe Sanchez for Mayor – I think “NOT”

December 15, 2008
Joe Sanchez for Mayor – I think “NOT”
I was reading an article stating that City of Miami Commissioner Joe Sanchez was thinking about running for Mayor  for the City of Miami replacing Mayor Manny Diaz at the end of his term in 2009.  The question is, “Is Joe Sanchez ready to become Mayor?”, and I think not.  I will explain.
Last year I was having problems with my old landlord not exterminating the apartment building that I was living in.  We had rats, mice, and bug by the millions that he would not do anything about.  The landlord was patching everything together and making the wood building a matchbox.  He would hire unqualified people to work on the building and was doing major repairs with any permits.  What he was doing was turning this building into a fire hazard by using the cheapest materials and cheapest men to do the work.  Give you an example. The help wired the receptacles wrong and use the wrong lights.  He installed used lights that were not certified by the building code according to one of the Electrical Inspectors.  He used contact paper to replace a kitchen counter top.  He had a person living in the apartment building that worked for him that had no running water, no working electric, the ceilings were falling down, the floor was caving in, window broken out and more. 
As time went on, I started to research the laws and the inspections of the buildings and found out that all of the apartment buildings are to be inspected every year.  This is mandatory according to the Florida Statute “Title XXXIII, Chapter 509 – Public Lodging and Public Food Service – Part I – 509.032 – Duties”
If you clicked on the link above and read it, you can clearly see, Florida Statute 509.032 Section 2 clearly states that all apartment buildings in the State of Florida are required to be inspected in the State of Florida, not just a few. These apartment buildings are not being inspected as required by law.  My apartment building would have never passed an inspection if one would have been given and none were given in over four years.  My question was “Why Not?”.  If these inspections would have been given, then I would not have had a problem with the rats and bugs.  Also keep in mind that during my investigations that I had talked to other people that have rented from the same landlord that complaints were made before mine and nothing was ever done to correct those complaints either. 
During the time that I had complained to the landlord about the bugs and rats and the time that he did absolutely nothing was over six months.  I had called every government department and had called the Mayor of City of Miami, Mayor of Miami-Dade County, Commissioners, Building Department, Department of Heath, and some that I cannot think of at this moment without any call backs.  Some of the people that I had call and did call me back told me who to call and those people really did not want to help.  After getting a hold of the Fire Department was the best thing that happened and then things started to happen along with me pushing the Electrical Department, Structural Department, Code Department and others but it was already too late for me.  From the time that I made my first call it took almost four months and a lot of calls to get these people off of their dead butts to do anything.  This is not right and should not be tolerated at all. 
To keep this from happening to anyone else I have decided to contact the people that are suppose to make sure that the laws are followed and that the City of Miami, Miami-Dade County  and State of Florida officials are aware of the problem and to do something about it.  The problem that I am having is that I have contacted City of Miami Commissioner Joe Sanchez and set up an appointment to see Joe Sanchez on October 8, 2008 about my complaint.   When I got there, Joe Sanchez was a no show and I ended up explaining my problem to his assistance, Teresa Zorrilla and Mario Beovides.  The next day I received a letter from Joe Sanchez stating that I should be assured that my complaint was being forwarded to the appropriate entity, in order to serve my complaint and concerns in a timely manner.   The letter also states that I should not hesitate to contact his office with any questions or concerns. 
After more than two weeks I have not heard anything from anyone so I wrote a letter asking about what was going on with my complaint or was it getting shoved under the rug like everything else with the government agencies?   I did not hear from him at all so I called and asked for Joe Sanchez and they told me that someone would call me.  A few days later I called back and asked why no one returned my call and left another message and again was promised that someone would call me back.  This has been going on and Joe Sanchez or anyone in his office has not ever called me backed after many promises.
Title X – Public Officers, Employees, and Records – Chapter 112 – Part III – Section 112.311 – Public Officers and Employees: General Provisions – Section 6 – states “It is declared to be the policy of the state that public officers and employees, state and local, are agents of the people and hold their positions for the benefit of the public. They are bound to uphold the Constitution of the United States and the State Constitution and to perform efficiently and faithfully their duties under the laws of the federal, state, and local governments. Such officers and employees are bound to observe, in their official acts, the highest standards of ethics consistent with this code and the advisory opinions rendered with respect hereto regardless of personal considerations, recognizing that promoting the public interest and maintaining the respect of the people in their government must be of foremost concern”. 
I do not believe not returning their phone calls is “recognizing that promoting the public interest and maintaining the respect of the people in their government must be of foremost concern”. 
The root of my problem would not have ever become a problem if the apartment building were inspected as required by law.  These apartment builds would have been inspected if the City Commissioner were doing their job in the first place by making sure that the Building Department was doing their job as required by law.  The people in charge promise to make changes when trying to get elected and then do nothing after the fact.  They let the same people do nothing and are afraid to say something because it might cost him/her the next election.  The head of the Building Department should be thrown out and replaced with someone who will get the job done, but Commissioners like Joe Sanchez send a letter to make me feel good and then forgets to push the issue because what reason I don’t know and this is not right.   Is by forgetting, not responding or hoping that I will forget about it good for the public interest?  I think not.  Is it a cover-up and they are hoping that I will again forget about it or just drop it because of the time involved to push the issue.  Or is it a friend of theirs and don’t want to do anything.  
Whatever the reason, should Joe Sanchez become the Mayor of the City of Miami?  Joe Sanchez should become Miami City Mayor:

  • If you are looking for a person that makes you think that he/she is helping you, then Joe Sanchez is your man for Mayor.
  • If you are looking for someone that has no control over his/her staff, then Joe Sanchez is your man for Mayor.
  • If you are looking for a person that will not return his/her phone calls, then Joe Sanchez is your man for Mayor.
  • If you are looking for a person that make appointments and then don’t show, then Joe Sanchez is your man for Mayor.
  • If you are looking for a person that protects the people from within the city from corruption or mis-behavior, then Joe Sanchez is your man for Mayor.
  • If you want a person that gets you frustrated by not returning calls, then Joe Sanchez is your man for Mayor.
  •  

There are already too many Joe Sanchez’s in office today and this type of behavior has got to change, so if Joe Sanchez does run for Mayor when Manny Diaz’s term is up, Should Joe Sanchez be Mayor? – I think NOT.

Responses

  1. Thank you!!!!

  2. I could not agree with you more regarding Sanchez, his crony Diaz, and the head of the building department. Arrogant, Incompetent and Corruption (or should I use the euphemism “cozy with developers”) to describe the head of City of Miami building department and the majority of the Miami commission.

    After more than five years of my complaining to the building department about the the illegal water runoff of my 28 -floor neighbor (Developer Bermello’s Onyx) the violation continues. My land and the foundation of my house are literally washing away.

    Like Sanchez ignored your correspondence, my district rep ignored mine. However, because Tomas Regalado is running for mayor, I emailed him less than two weeks ago regarding the inept building department and the unchecked violations. Tomas Regalado answered within 24 hours and has twice since requested follow ups from the building department.

    REGALADO is my hero.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

