Posted by: miamicomplaints | December 28, 2008

Meeting with Miami-Dade County Commissioner Bruno Barreiro

Sunday, December 28, 2008

An update on my meeting with Miami-Dade County Commissioner Bruno Barreiro.  My first meeting was back in September. 2008 and I gave him 65 pages of documents and over 100 pictures showing where the Building Code Inspectors were not doing their job.  He told me that he was going to look into the situlation.  Two months later I had set up another meeting with him again because I have not heard from him.  I asked him what was going on and why I didnot get any response back.  He told me that he was going to write a letter to the governor because he didnot know exactly know what to do.  Two weeks after this meeting I heard nothing again so I called his office and asked him to call me.  This call and ten more calls were never returned. 

Do we really need this type of a person as a County Commissioner?  I don’t think so.  We have enough people in government that don’t do anything.  With the commissioners no doing their job hurts everyone.

 

Wednesday, September 17, 2008

I had a meeting with Miami-Dade County Commissioner Bruno Barreiro this morning about city, county and state government agencies not doing their job.  I had showed him pictures of the building that I was living until I got evicted for asking the landlord to get rid of the bugs and to stop making the building a matchbox.  I was not evicted because of not paying the rent.  The landlord always got his rent money, but I was paying two hundred dollars more for this apartment and it was to be better and was not. 

I gave the commissioner a 74 page report on what had happened to me and the bottom line was that if the government agencies would have done their job in the first place I would not have ever had a problem with the landlord.

Florida Statute Chapter 509 totally specifically states that the government agencies such as the Building Code Enforcement and other agencies are to inspect every apartment building in the State of Florida at least once a year and this is not done.  Why? 

I also asked him why the inspectors have not been inspecting the sidewalks and why the Planning and Zoning designed sidewalks with pipes, telephone poles, benches, signs, trees, and other stuff in the middle of the sidewalks? 

I told him that I had moved by the train station and there was a sign that was laying down and that the base of the sign was sticking up out of the sidewalk about ten inches and they came by and painted it so you could see the pipe sticking up.  The sign was maybe fifteen feet away lying on the ground and all it needed was two bolts and put back in place.  The good news is that they did fix this problem after the sign laid there for almost a year.  I told him that the security guards, police, maintenance people are to report this and wanted to know why it took almost a year to replace two bolts.

We also talked about the raising the fares on the trains and buses.  I told him that raising the prices was uncalled for mainly because the money was mishandled and the poor should not have to pay for their mistakes.  Commissioner Bruno Barreiro told me that he voted no to raising the fare.  This is a good sign.

The Commissioner told me that he would get back with me about this. I am sure that there is more that we talked about but right now I cannot think of it.  Come back later and lets see what will happen.

Leave a Reply

Categories

